:: NIEUWS ::
Bron: Sony Music - Datum: 2004-10-17 - Geplaatst door: Serge
Op 19 oktober verschijnt A Reality Tour, een liveconcert van David Bowie op koopdvd. De redactie ontving onderstaand persbericht én een exemplaar van de dvd. Het concert is echt de moeite waard, een bespreking volgt spoedig.

"...Bowie still manages to project more charisma during one song than most modern-day stars manage in a career... The songs sound as fresh as ever..." - Maurice O'Brien, IRISH INDEPENDENT (Dublin), November 24, 2003.

DAVID BOWIE will release "DAVID BOWIE - A REALITY TOUR" DVD October 19 (ISO/Columbia) to commemorate his first major world tour in nearly a decade. Filmed last November 22 and 23 in front of emotionally charged audiences at the Point Depot in Dublin, Ireland, the DVD marks the influential rock legend's first concert film in over 15 years. Thirty songs spanning BOWIE's illustrious career - including "Five Years" and "Hang On To Yourself," which BOWIE hasn't played live in over 20 years - are featured in a riveting state-of-the-art sound and light stage production that was conceived by BOWIE and utilises enormous LED screens and animation. The programme runs 140 minutes, and a ten-page booklet filled with amazing live photos from the event is included in the package.

Feeding off the overwhelming response from the Dublin audience, BOWIE said on the first night: "If we're going to film a DVD anywhere, this is the place to do it. I know it, you know it and they (the film crew) know it!" "DAVID BOWIE - A REALITY TOUR" is produced by Blink TV, edited by Emmy Award winner Guy Harding and the Creative Director is Marcus Viner. The DVD's 5.1 surround sound mix was engineered by Tony Visconti, BOWIE's long-time producer of such classic albums as THE MAN WHO SOLD THE WORLD, YOUNG AMERICANS and "HEROES"; Visconti also co-produced with BOWIE his most recent critically revered albums HEATHEN (2002) and REALITY (2003).

Armed with a rotating list of 60 songs, BOWIE and his band - Gerry Leonard (band leader/guitar/vocals), Sterling Campbell (drums/vocals), Earl Slick (guitar), Gail Ann Dorsey (bass guitar/vocals), Catherine Russell (keyboards/vocals/percussion/guitar) and Mike Garson (keyboards) - made their mark with shows constituting what many described as one of the best treks in his career. The hugely successful and critically acclaimed "A Reality Tour" began last October in Europe, visiting countries all over the world while attracting over 700,000 fans and earning the tour #1 top-grossing honours for the first half of 2004, according to Billboard Boxscore. It was also hailed as "Best Tour: #2 (after Radiohead)" in the "Critics' Picks" section in the ROLLING STONE "Music Awards 2003" poll (2/5/04).

"DAVID BOWIE - A REALITY TOUR" mixes an array of classics and deep album cuts with songs from BOWIE's most recent works, HEATHEN and REALITY, both of which critics ranked among his best works. HEATHEN entered the top 15 in 14 countries, including the U.S., while REALITY claimed the #1 position on Billboard's Pan European chart, debuting in the Top 10 in 15 countries. BOWIE truly continues to raise the standard for ongoing adventurousness and artistry in popular music.

The complete "DAVID BOWIE - A REALITY TOUR" tracklisting:

01. Rebel Rebel
02. New Killer Star
03. Reality
04. Fame
05. Cactus
06. Sister Midnight
07. Afraid
08. All The Young Dudes
09. Be My Wife
10. The Loneliest Guy
11. The Man Who Sold The World
12. Fantastic Voyage
13. Hallo Spaceboy
14. Sunday
15. Under Pressure
16. Life On Mars?
17. Battle For Britain (The Letter)
18. Ashes To Ashes
19. The Motel
20. Loving The Alien
21. Never Get Old
22. Changes
23. I'm Afraid Of Americans
24. "Heroes"
25. Bring Me The Disco King
26. Slip Away
27. Heathen (The Rays)
28. Five Years
29. Hang On To Yourself
30. Ziggy Stardust